Page 2 of 4

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:12 am
by SCO
Don't be condescending, i program myself. Here:
http://code.google.com/p/bookjar/source/list

I know exactly how hard it is.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:14 am
by Leonardo
Not even two weeks have passed before you ask me if I've told Melchor about your request, when I've been waiting for nearly three month now since the last time Melchor was online.  :)

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:23 am
by SCO
I managed to make the installation of WMS portable by putting it in the morrowind dir and editing the config file to use a relative dir for the Morrowind location ("..\..").

This allows me to keep the saved Order Lists and is almost as good as a "select all".
(I zipped the whole morrowind dir in a portable package + some scrips).

Cheers. I still think a select all would be best, especially since the "real" way to solve order conflicts nowadays is mlox and there is a already a button to "select none" right next to "load order list".

-- Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:23 pm --

I managed to make the installation of WMS portable by putting it in the morrowind dir and editing the config file to use a relative dir for the Morrowind location ("..\..").

This allows me to keep the saved Order Lists and is almost as good as a "select all".
(I zipped the whole morrowind dir in a portable package + some scrips).

Cheers. I still think a select all would be best, especially since the "real" way to solve order conflicts nowadays is mlox and there is a already a button to "select none" right next to "load order list".

-- Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:12 am --

Opps, spoke too soon. If you uninstall a mod and then try to load a list that has it wrye vomits a error instead of continuing.
So this can't be used really. Please tell Melchior about the select all option.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 9:38 am
by Leonardo
SCO wrote:This allows me to keep the saved Order Lists and is almost as good as a "select all".

Cheers. I still think a select all would be best, especially since the "real" way to solve order conflicts nowadays is mlox and there is a already a button to "select none" right next to "load order list".

There is one already available in Wrye Mash to do just that. To have this feature active you need to select every plugins there is in the mods tab and right click on the top bar. From that menu just do this; Load > Save List... (you have to do it only one time).
To bring it back do this; Load > (whatever under the Bethesda ESMs) or your suggestion about the None option to deactivate the mods.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:06 am
by Elaura
I had an idea which may or may not be a good one.  When selecting multiple files and redating, the default "starting from" date is always the current date/time.  Is there any way to make the *default* "starting from" date, the same as the earliest date among the selected files?  I know I can type in my own start date, but it would be easier to change the default, because of my next request:

Would it be possible to move the selected (grouped) mods up or down before redating them?

For example, I might have 6 mods which add clothing.  I select them all because I want to redate them.  Once they are selected, I realize I want one of them to load last within that group, so I move it down the list, then I select "redate files" and the default pops up as the earliest date in the series.  This way, the only time I'd need to change the default date is if I want the first date later than the earliest mod . . . which is pretty rare for me.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:52 am
by Leonardo
Elaura wrote:I had an idea which may or may not be a good one.  When selecting multiple files and redating, the default "starting from" date is always the current date/time.  Is there any way to make the *default* "starting from" date, the same as the earliest date among the selected files?  I know I can type in my own start date, but it would be easier to change the default, because of my next request:

Yes, you can have the earliest date of those selected mods by simple select one and highlighted before you copy the date by either right click+cut/+copy (not right click+paste) or use the keys Ctrl+X / Ctrl+C (not Ctrl+V) to change the others.

But I'm not sure if you can redate several mods together by paste it in the new date you want probably not.  :shrug:

Would it be possible to move the selected (grouped) mods up or down before redating them?

You mean by using holding down the Ctrl key+arrow (up/down) keys to move the mods up or down you do in Wrye Bash.
That's something Melchor is working on right now, because that was one of those features I asked Melchor about before he went offline.

I also know that Melchor have other bugfixes he is working on before the new version is released. I guess the new WMSA version is released soon.  :smile:

For example, I might have 6 mods which add clothing.  I select them all because I want to redate them.  Once they are selected, I realize I want one of them to load last within that group, so I move it down the list, then I select "redate files" and the default pops up as the earliest date in the series.  This way, the only time I'd need to change the default date is if I want the first date later than the earliest mod . . . which is pretty rare for me.

You can already use the group command in popup menu if you select one mod for the Group list to mark it and then select what group it belongs to.  :sheo:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:57 am
by Elaura
I realize it can be done with cut and paste, I was wondering if the default can be changed.  When you select any file or group of files to redate, the "starting date" is always the current date and time.  I'd like to change that default.  I can't think of any instance where I would want to redate a mod to the current date and time.

Glad to hear there is already consideration of the moving mods up and down.  As I don't have Wryebash, I can only assume that what you are talking about is correct.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:26 am
by Leonardo
Elaura wrote:I realize it can be done with cut and paste, I was wondering if the default can be changed.  When you select any file or group of files to redate, the "starting date" is always the current date and time.  I'd like to change that default.  I can't think of any instance where I would want to redate a mod to the current date and time.

That's just out of my knowledge to do things like that and only person I can think of to do such things is john.moonsugar, except for Wrye Bash team including Wrye and Melchor of course, because you asking me to dig in the python source code to change it from there and I can't programming in python even if I wanted it to. I'm sorry, Elaura maybe I can do that in the afterlife.  :wink:

Glad to hear there is already consideration of the moving mods up and down.  As I don't have Wryebash, I can only assume that what you are talking about is correct.

That's correct. Do you play Oblivion?  :chinscratch:
If so why not install Wrye Bash right away and try it for your self.  :mockery:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:11 pm
by Elaura
No, I don't.  I played it at my nephew's house and didn't much like it, so I never bought it.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:56 pm
by Leonardo
Elaura wrote:No, I don't.  I played it at my nephew's house and didn't much like it, so I never bought it.

Perhaps a picture could help you to understand what I'm talking about here.  :wink:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:31 pm
by Elaura
No, really, I'll take your word for it.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:14 am
by Leonardo
Update


I've just added the source code download for Wrye Mash Stand Alone and the reason I'm doing that is this question with the following discussion here.  :mrgreen:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 2:44 am
by abot
Elaura wrote:I had an idea which may or may not be a good one.  When selecting multiple files and redating, the default "starting from" date is always the current date/time.  Is there any way to make the *default* "starting from" date, the same as the earliest date among the selected files?  I know I can type in my own start date, but it would be easier to change the default, because of my next request:

Would it be possible to move the selected (grouped) mods up or down before redating them?

For example, I might have 6 mods which add clothing.  I select them all because I want to redate them.  Once they are selected, I realize I want one of them to load last within that group, so I move it down the list, then I select "redate files" and the default pops up as the earliest date in the series.  This way, the only time I'd need to change the default date is if I want the first date later than the earliest mod . . . which is pretty rare for me.
I am happily using a Mash porting of TESTool reordering (which is the best one so far and what you are asking for in practice), see attached file.
Note: my changes start with
Code: Select all
#--begin changes by abot
comment and end with
Code: Select all
#--end changes by abot
comment (comment lines start with #)

if you Python version is < 2.7, revert this line back to original
Code: Select all
          #os.spawnl(os.P_NOWAIT,mw)
          os.spawnv(os.P_NOWAIT,mw,args) #fixed for Python 2.7 /abot

There is also integration with TES3cmd.exe assuming a copy of TES3cmd.exe is in your Data Files directory.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 9:05 am
by Elaura
Wow!  That's great abot!  I'll let you know if I have any trouble.  Thank you for sharing this!

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 9:51 am
by Leonardo
Thanks for sharing this piece of information abot.  :sheo:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 6:30 am
by Melchior Dahrk
I have a quick question about the standalone version of mash. The download doesn't come with the Mashed Lists.esp. Do you have to download the python version of mash to get that resource or is there a different way to merge lists with the WMSA?

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 5:54 am
by Leonardo
Melchior Dahrk wrote:I have a quick question about the standalone version of mash. The download doesn't come with the Mashed Lists.esp. Do you have to download the python version of mash to get that resource or is there a different way to merge lists with the WMSA?

They're in the Morrowind\Mopy\Extras folder. No you don't need to download the original Wrye Mash version. There is no different between python-based Wrye Mash and Melchor's WMSA for the merge lists, but you should try out Yacoby's Wrye Mash 85 Stand Alone version because he have finally add the Ctrl+arrow keys mod sorting, add marker "==Last Marker==" feature among other things into WMSA.  :mrgreen:

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:28 am
by Leonardo
It's highly recommended that you use Yacoby's version of Wrye Mash Stand Alone instead of Melchor's WMSA because he has added so many new features to make Wrye Mash more powerful than ever.  Another thing is that Yacoby has already begun the development of Wrye Mash 85/86 and released both Wrye Mash 85 Stand Alone plus Wrye Mash 86 Stand Alone dev-beta and every improvement that Melchor has in his WMSA 003 version is included in Yacoby's WMSA.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:47 am
by SpiritedTreasure
Is this version of Wrye Mash configurable? I got a giant pop up when I clicked the image.
I am running Windows 7 .. C:\Bethesda

instead of C:\Program Files(x86)\Bethesda

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:02 am
by Jac
Where are you running it from? It need to be in your main Morrowind folder. I run it from E:\Games\Morrowind on Windows 7 with no issues. Also, what's the pop-up?

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:48 pm
by Elaura
As Jac said, you do need to install it in your Morrowind folder, but once you get it open, there is a little diskette icon in the bottom left of the program window.  That is where you can set the path.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:48 pm
by SpiritedTreasure
Running it from C:\Bethesda

I don't know. It looked like an advertizement for the site but I wasn't daring to touch it. I x'd out of that tab and did a full scan.

-edit-

Ok thanks -s-

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:00 pm
by Leonardo
@ST:  Don't bother the screen when you open the setup.exe file it's just a copyright logo for the installation application during the session of programming.  Or do you mean the opening screen once you have installed it?

It doesn't matter what screen you're referring too both screens are quite harmless, so don't you worry about that.  It's normal trust me.  :smile:

Elaura wrote:As Jac said, you do need to install it in your Morrowind folder,

Nope.  You don't need to install Melchor's WMSA in the \Morrowind\Mopy\ folder instead you can install WMSA anywhere, but it's highly recommended to avoid installation in any C:\Program Files(x86) related folders though.

but once you get it open, there is a little diskette icon in the bottom left of the program window.  That is where you can set the path.

Yes that's correct.  The green disk icon is used to change the installation path of both Morrowind and the Installers tab (\Morrowind\Installers\ folder).

You can also use the BSA Browser, which has the useful BSAReg tool as a separate .exe file plus the GetMWroot.exe file to find the exact path via Windows registry.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:53 pm
by SpiritedTreasure
Leonardo: I meant the picture you posted for Elaura in post above..


   Options
          

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

Postby Leonardo ยป Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:37 pm

   Elaura wrote:That's okay, Leonardo.  Don't worry about it.  I don't think I'm making myself clear enough, anyway.  I'm talking about one program and you're talking about another.  It's just a misunderstanding, but I don't know of any other way to explain what I'm trying to say.

   Thanks anyway.  :D


Oh yes, you were so clear you could ever be about your question.  :smile:
I don't blame you and perhaps I was so tired when I posted my previous reply, because that was already an early morning in Sweden.


Here is a few pictures I promise you.  :VivecSmile:y

How to change setup the path of Morrowind or Installers tab
How to install BSA files into Morrowind through WMSA

The picture is showing how to install BSA files and I told you earlier that you need BSAreg to register BSA files.


and the link



Because I was glad to see I would not have to muck about with python again.. This is a new computer and it's Windows 7.

When I clicked that link something on that page popped out at me and I x-d out .. Faster than a speeding bullet -lol-

I'm pretty paranoid about that stuff.. Especially with this FBI malware.

-edit-

Virus Total is listing that as a clean link..
https://www.virustotal.com/
I'm just paranoid.

Re: Wrye Mash Stand Alone (WMSA)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:17 am
by Leonardo
You know if such a thing scares you then I'll probably upload my pictures as an attachment into my posts in the future.  Anyway I'm glad I could help you out.  :D