Page 1 of 1

Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:03 am
by Istaqa
Hullo there ;)

I'm having some problems with C&E v1.3:

- Running on Win XP with Morrowind GotY Edition (+ recent MCP and MPP)

As soon as I summon Fliggerty (nice asian outfit, by the way) and am supposed to write down my PIN Morrowind freezes.
I still can hear the music though but nothing more. I was at Seyda Neen that time - which seems to be a problem :D

Yeah, but I don't give up so fast and so I headed to the Bittercoast and summoned Fliggerty again. This time I managed it to write down the PIN.
Unfortuneatly, Morrowind freezes again when Fliggerty wants me to enter the ID. Niiiice ;D

I'm really looking forward to play with this mod - like it a lot :)
Hoping that you have a solution

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:20 am
by theskymoves
I sometimes have an issue with text boxes, like the C&E one - they either don't appear, or the game locks up and I can't type anything. (The other one that gives me fits is the text box for entering a custom description of a Mark with Melian's Teleport mod.) I've found that if a wait a few seconds, and then hit the space bar, the text box that didn't appear will show up, or the frozen text box will unfreeze and I can proceed normally. YMMV, of course.

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:33 am
by Jac
Are you using MGE, Istaqa? If so, try typing your PIN and ID number in and see if they show on the screen. The game isn't actually freezing, it's just not handling the input boxes correctly. It's not an issue with CnE, but with MWSE and MGE.

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:46 am
by Istaqa
Yes, I'm using MGE. I'll try that one out, thanks :)

Few minutes ago, Morrowind crashed to desktop as I prepared a spell.. I read something about a lite version of C&E that fixes that?

EDIT:Okay.. If I hit the R Button Morrowind instantly crashes ;D
EDITEDIT: I tried the other method that the Fliggerty character is contributing.. and it worked - yeeah :) But  the game still crashes when I prepare spells,hmm

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:20 am
by Elaura
Theskymoves is right.  It's not the mod, it's the input boxes lagging.  Your game is not freezing, it's waiting.  Next time, try hitting the spacebar or the backspace keys.  Usually, the input box will then show up with the spaces or backspaces.  As for the crashing, yes, definitely try the lite version.

theskymoves: I've had the same problem with mel's teleport mod input boxes, but only since the number of marks hit over 200.  This is definitely not just lag, because everything happens as if the input box wasn't there.  If I hit 'W' I walk, 'E' I jump, etc. and then the box disappears and the game continues, leaving the name of the mark simply 'name'.  Also, I don't have the problem until I've been playing for a while in a single session.  I wouldn't know what causes it, but I'm guessing that over time, the game engine gets confused.

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:08 am
by Kiteflyer61
@Istaqa: I've had that problem pop up before. Try this...

1. Load the save that you are having trouble readying magic.
2. Immediately (before you do anything else) save to a new slot.
3. Exit the game, then restart and load the save from step two.
4. Check to see if you can ready magic (you should be able to now).


For some reason the saves can get messed up, but this little trick works for me every time (so far :) ).


KF

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am
by Istaqa
Wow, it works now :)
Thanks to all of you and have a good time out there

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:23 pm
by Jac
We're glad you could get it working. Let us know if you have any other issues with it. :smile:

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:27 am
by Fliggerty
Also, please don't forget about the alternate input method.  If the text boxes don't work for you, you can use an old fashioned method using dialogue choices to select the numbers.

Re: Freezing Morrowind with C&E

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:10 am
by Istaqa
Yeah, I always do it that way now- thanks!
Also I writing down every single CTD I get.. 1 hour seems somehow the maximum of playtime I've accomplished so far.
If I find anything related to C&E (which is probably not the case right now), I'll tell you ;)