Page 1 of 1

Need a little help in fixing dialogue  [SOLVED]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:32 am
by abiel0530
There's a bit of a conflict in here
Image
How can this be remedied?
Here's my load list
GameFile0=Bloodmoon.esm
GameFile1=Morrowind Patch 1.6.5 Beta (BTB Edit).esm
GameFile2=Morrowind.esm
GameFile3=Tribunal.esm
GameFile4=Less_Generic_Bloodmoon.esp
GameFile5=Less_Generic_Nerevarine.esp
GameFile6=Less_Generic_Tribunal.esp

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:32 am
by Jac
It's probably one of the LGNPC mods that causing the loop, but I'd have to see the dialog before I could say for certain which one. If you wouldn't mind uploading just the ESPs for those mods, I'll take a look at them and see if I can track down the culprit.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:55 am
by abiel0530
Here they are, Jac. Thank you very much in advance.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:52 pm
by Elaura
Jac's teaching me how to troubleshoot dialog, so I'm checking this out while he's making dinner.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:22 pm
by Blackened Angelwings
im not much on the dialogue help but i think to help with dialogue conflicts you should at least have the game loading in the proper order. Morrowind, tribunal, then bloodmoon and have the less generics load like this as well to keep things overwritten in order

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:45 pm
by Elaura
So far, we can tell this is caused by LG Nerevarine.  Jac will be along shortly with possible solutions as there is more than one way to fix it.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:47 pm
by Jac
That was his load list, not his load order, BA.

abiel0530, it looks like the Nerevarine mod added new dialog, but the choice 1 for a male character was added at the bottom and not at the top. It should be under the two lines that have PC Sex = 1 for a filter. You can move dialog lines by clicking on them and pressing the left arrow to move them up one line. If you move it too far up, just press the right arrow. If it's above the "female" lines, then those won't be said if you ever play a female character.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:01 pm
by abiel0530
Um, can you elaborate a bit more please?

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:52 pm
by Elaura
The way the game engine reads dialog entries is from the top of the list to the bottom, stopping at the first one where all the variables are true.  If the dialog is listed in the wrong order, certain entries will never be seen in game and you may even see a loop, like in your issue.

How comfortable are you with the CS, abiel?  If you aren't, or if you have never looked at the dialog screens, then I think the best thing would be for Jac to just make the fix and send the esp back to you.

If you'd like to fix it yourself, then you'll need to understand the basics.  Let us know how experienced you are and how much you feel you can do on your own.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:30 am
by abiel0530
I'm not used to using the CS very much. Could I get the fixed .esp?

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:38 pm
by Jac
Here you go. You'll need to redate it with Wrye Mash, but it should work properly now. I found that there was no #4 choice for refusing to rejoin after being expelled, so I added that in. Let me know if you have any problems with it. Thanks.

Re: Need a little help in fixing dialogue

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:57 pm
by abiel0530
Thanks much Jac! All's well now!