Page 2 of 3

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:00 pm
by Jac
The paste came on the heat sink, Skydye, but what you want to get is thermal paste. Most computer shops should sell small toothpaste like tubes of it. It should be grey in color and thick like toothpaste; I wouldn't brush my teeth with it, though.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:02 pm
by Skydye
I don't have teeth. I'm a bird.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:26 pm
by jaxawier
Skydye wrote:Do you still have the paste? I need to know the name of it and where I can buy some. As my computer is overheating because I changed the CPU a couple of years ago and didn't use paste.


if I may butt in here ? Arctic silver is nice, there is also a cleaning set from them as well,arctic clean in two parts,remover and purifier, that can be nice to use if old crap is left.That is what I use anyway.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:32 pm
by Elaura
LOL!  If you truly can't find it, skydye, there is a place here in town that sells it by the tube.  We could pick it up for you and send it to your nest by carrier pigeon . . . no charge.  Heck we wouldn't even charge you for the snack!  I once walked into a repair shop and asked for it, the tech just squeezed some out on my finger, wrapped it in cellophane and I went home and smeared it on my CPU.

@jaxawier:

Really?  I just scraped it off with a single-edged razor blade.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:35 pm
by Skydye
Thanks Elaura  I have a shop locally that I like.
Thanks Jax. I'll ask a computer shop about cleaning it and then pasting it. It's cheaper then buying a new computer on credit instead of saving up the cash.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:41 pm
by jaxawier
Elaura wrote:@jaxawier:

Really?  I just scraped it off with a single-edged razor blade.


yeah,that works without any noticable effects for most people, but you leave some tiny,very tiny leftovers in the copper,which that artic clean set takes.

@kydye: at least here in scandinavia it is pretty common,quite in-expensive too=cheap :D

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:58 pm
by Skydye
I'll go later on today or tomorrow.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:03 pm
by Dragon_Lance
After market coolers work much better. I hear Scythe is a good brand in relation to it's low profile and adaptability for full RAM. What cpu do you have now, Jac?

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:06 pm
by Jac
AMD Phenom II X4 970 processor running at 3.51 GHz. I stick with stock coolers because I know they work. I think the old CPU was damaged by my bad power supply - it was causing all sorts of screw-ups, mainly with memory.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:11 pm
by Dragon_Lance
*drools* The larger heatsinks will do you well, Jac, especially if you have the right case with fans in the appropriate airflow positions. The more surface area that can dissipate heat, the better. Consider it for performance concerns, my furry friend. With a cooler cpu, you will have more clock speed to play with - or simply more efficient gameplay. ;)

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:22 pm
by peachykeen
Yeah, a simple heatsink/fan upgrade can do wonders for temperature and the clock-speeds you can safely play with.

My old Celeron was running the stock fan for a few months after I first got it, and was running 15-20 degrees higher than it does now. I bought a $20 fan from Intel and put on new thermal paste and I can get it to 3.5 GHz (from the stock 3.06) with a minimal temperature increase. I've seen newer processors clear 4 gigs on air with a good fan and sink. Just put a fan on the back of the case pulling air out (mine has one set right near the heatsink, so it pulls air across the sink as the CPU fan pulls it out the side of the case).

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:30 pm
by Skydye
I take my old computer down and had them put on the paste. It seem to be running OK. I'm going to save up $900 and the computer guy is going to custom built me a gaming computer. I trust the shop. It'll take me 6 months or longer to save up the cash.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:06 am
by Jac
I have two 120mm fans in the case and it has a vent that leads almost directly to the CPU. My overheating problems were because I took the old CPU off of one motherboard and put it on another without reapplying the paste. That and the CPU was damaged by a faulty power supply. Everything's running fine now and I'm leaving well enough alone.

Re: Buying new computer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:01 am
by Skydye
Jac wrote:I have two 120mm fans in the case and it has a vent that leads almost directly to the CPU. My overheating problems were because I took the old CPU off of one motherboard and put it on another without reapplying the paste. That and the CPU was damaged by a faulty power supply. Everything's running fine now and I'm leaving well enough alone.


A clean power supply is very important to a computer. Most people believe a binary code is either on or off in electrical terms. But that's untrue.

sassman wrote:
In electronic signal mechanics, the only true "off" state is when the circuit is completely de-powered (unplugged, etc.)  I've worked in binary electronics, and a transister/Capacitor pair has two states:  High energy, which reads as a "One" in logic processing, and Low energy, which reads as a "Zero"--but BOTH are indicated by the passage of an electrical impulse, as this is necessary for the switches and logic gates to function.   On a typical 8088 processor from the '80s, these energy states were at +3.3v/ac for 1 (on), and +0.5v/ac for 0 (off).  Most modern processors, internally at least, have much smaller internal voltages, but you still see the same +5v, +12v, +3.3v, +0.5v, -5v, and GND (neutral/ground) connectors going from the power supply to the board.  In all cases, a finctioning bit, on OR off, is represented by an electrical signal at a certain voltage passing through it.

When I spoke of Quantum computing, I was referring to the experimental hardware that can make sense of varying, or fluctuating power levels--say a variable range of energu from +3.3v/ac to +0.5v/ac, or any state in between.  In such circuitry, there is no true "One" or "Zero", but a POTENTIAL for one or zero, which is represented as an infinite probability range of 0 > x > 1.  Because they can store, transmit, and INTERPRET this probability potential, they can theoretically do a limitless volume of work in the same ammount of physical circuitry.

-- the SASS Man

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 2:06 pm
by Leonardo
Is there anyone who has some news about the Kvatch Rebuilt site?  :chinscratch:

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:30 pm
by Skydye
Seems to be down. Have you tried a google search or a post at the official forum about it?

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:19 pm
by Leonardo
Skydye wrote:Seems to be down. Have you tried a google search or a post at the official forum about it?

Yes, I did post in this thread. Perhaps I'm a little to eager for some news, but I didn't search for it before until now.  :google:

Thanks Skydye.  :wink:

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:09 am
by Naajaw
Threads merged successfully (I think?).

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:04 pm
by Skydye
Yes the thread is merged.

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:19 pm
by Naajaw
Why do we still have a "Time Killers" subforum when there is nothing in it?

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:51 pm
by Elaura
Because when folks start coming back from summer vacation, they're going to start more "what color are your socks" threads and we'll need a place to put them?

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:01 pm
by Fliggerty
The forum is empty because it's automatically pruned, so everything will eventually be deleted if it's not actively being posted in.

But it's still there to be used as needed.

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:48 am
by Naajaw
Ah, makes sense. Thanks.

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:32 am
by Cimmerian1xt
Greetings AMAZING and GREAT Morrowind PC version players, I'm Michael, and, how do I manually raise my "Jasmine" NPC Companion's Disposition to "100" via using a console command in Morrowind the PC version folks???

Re: General Questions

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:00 am
by Elaura
To raise any NPC's disposition:

  • face the NPC
  • open the console
  • click on the NPC to make their ID show up at the top of the console window
  • type: setdisposition 100
  • press enter
  • close the console window